National Coming Out Day

20151011-gfm-blog-national-coming-out-day-400

Today is National Coming Out Day!

A day celebrated annually by the LGBTQ community for the past 28 years every year on the 11th of October.

Everywhere on social medias, people are letting others know that they are either gay, lesbian, transgendered, bisexual, pansexual, asexual, gender binary, gender fluid…the list goes on. And thats wonderful! However you see yourself is wonderful and should be fully accepted.

I’ve seen so many tweets, whispers, wall posts, snapchat stories, tumblr posts about coming out stories – past and present. I even texted my boyfriend to wish him a happy coming out day. Even though he and I have been out for years, and never came out on this specific day.

If you do choose to come out today, the whole world is behind you! Just make sure that you are doing it for you! Please make sure you are in a safe position to do so and that you feel comfortable and at ease doing it. There is no rush at all, everyone comes out when they are ready! I came out at 22 and felt that was the best time for myself to do so. Just make sure you do it when you are ready to do so.

If someone has come out to you today, give them an extra hug and let them know that they are still loved and that nothing has changed. My Dad said to me that he doesn’t care who i love whether it be a Daniel or a Danielle, your mom and I still love you. (Yes, at the time my boyfriend happened to be named Daniel).

Some people are lucky enough to have their family be fully accepting, and some are not. And that is not okay. We don’t change once we tell our loved ones that we are gay or lesbian or trans. We are just being our selfs and letting you know that we idientify that way.

I remember when I came out, someone asked me how I knew I was gay. I said, “How do you know you’re straight”. It’s the same thing. Being gay, or lesbian or trans isn’t a choice. It’s the way we are and we can’t and won’t change.

So I hope everyone has a wonderful Coming Out Day if you choose to let others know today. If not, that is totally okay! Take your time.

Love and hugs to all today! xoxo

One thought on “National Coming Out Day

Leave a Reply

