What Does Your Valentines Look Like

Today is Valentine’s Day! A day some go all out and spoil their loved ones with flowers, chocolates and extra loving. But it could also be a day where people dread; either because they are single or just think its another “Hallmark” holiday.

I reached out to a few people to get their thoughts on this lovely day; Couples and singletons a like.

BJ, Frankie and Milo:

thumbnail_smiling-fam-pic

GMT:  What did you do for Valentine’s Day last year? 

BJ: Last year for Valentine’s Day, we had a baby sitter and went out for a romantic dinner.

GMT:  What are you doing for Valentine’s this year?

BJ: This year, we went out for our Valentine’s dinner this past weekend. Our son Milo, is now 2.5 yrs old, so we plan on spending the day with him, watching movies, giving him Valentine’s chocolates and playing in the snow!

GMT:  What do you think of Valentine’s? Is it fun? Do you think it’s just another day? Or do you go all out and fill it with romance?

BJ: We really like Valentine’s Day. Many people dislike it and think of it as another “Hallmark” holiday, but we like the fact that there is a day set aside to really appreciate the ones you love. Life is so hectic, you sometimes forget to appreciate your partner and all the things they do for you. Now that we have our son, we spend the day together as a family, and spending time with our son is the most important part of our day. (And of course with each other!)

GMT:  How long have you and your partner been together?

BJ: Frank and I have been together since 2007. We will be celebrating 10 years together this May. We got married in 2010.

GMT:  What are some interesting things about you and Frankie

BJ: My  husband and I reside in Toronto and are raising their little “Bubbaloo” Milo, who was born via gestational surrogate. Our birth photo had gone viral, which inspired us to write a children’s book called Milo’s Adventures and create own website www.familyisaboutlove.com where you can read more of our stories. We are both high school teachers in Toronto. We enjoy doing community theatre, traveling, spending time with family and friends, and now getting to experience life through our little ones eyes!

 

JJ:

jj

GMT: What did you do for Valentine’s Day last year?

JJ: I think last year I was with my friends at a bar. Last year I was very single so I went out with some friends and had a great time. The guys at the bar were giving free shots and desserts for the couples, so of course we said that we were dating to get the free shots and desserts. It was a great Valentine’s Day, even if I was single!

GMT:  What are you doing for Valentine’s this year?

JJ: This Valentine’s Day I can’t say that I have a boyfriend, but I can’t say I’m single either. So I’ll probably spend it with that person – not sure what his plans are, but I hope I’m in them haha. But before we are all going out with our boyfriends or girlfriends, my friends and I are going to grab some sushi and a drink.

GMT:  What do you think of Valentine’s Day – is it fun, boring, not for you, just another day, or is it a romantic day?

JJ: I think it’s a very fun day because it’s all about love (and chocolates). You shouldn’t be sad if you don’t have a date (I know what I’m talking about) just have some fun with friends, go to a bar or restaurant…whatever you wanna do! Wear an amazing outfit and have the best attitude because you never know, maybe it’s your lucky day.

GMT: So you’re not single, and not yet taken? 

JJ: Complicated?

GMT:  What are some interesting things about yourself? 

JJ: My name is JJ. I love art, fashion, books (I love “Paris for one and other stories”) , and movies (not a fan of horror movies, they’re too scary for me. ) Christmas is my favorite time of the year; everybody is nicer and we all should be everyday. I love the summer too.
And I’m really in love with love, the idea, the feeling, everything.

 

Bernard:

bernard

GMT: What did you do for Valentine’s Day last year?

Bernard:  Last year I went to a Valentine’s Day party at a friend’s house, and it was so awkward. I was the only single person there… in a sea of couples. Can you say like 17th wheel? It was so depressing, but everyone made sure that I didn’t feel uncomfortable. I left early anyways.

GMT:  What are you doing for Valentine’s this year?

Bernard: Other than working? In all honesty, I have no clue what I will be doing… I want to watch Fifty Shades Darker, but it’s a Tuesday and we all know it’s going to be packed with couples. So, I might just stay home and hang out with my niece.

GMT: What do you think of Valentine’s Day – is it fun, boring, not for you, just another day, or is it a romantic day?

Bernard: Honestly, I’ve been single for quite a while, so it is just another day for me. But I wouldn’t use Valentine’s Day as an excuse to be mushy… If you’re dating me you’re getting it all year round.

GMT: So your single and ready to mingle?

Bernard: Sadly, single again.

GMT:What are some interesting things about yourself Bernard? 

Bernard: I Am Bernard Toney, and I am 27-years-old from Toronto, On. I am a Digital Communications student at Humber College, who also has a diploma in journalism. I’m just a character, as my friends tell me, and I don’t know why… but they love me anyways!

 

Em, Aliana and Marceline:

em

GMT: What did you do for Valentine’s Day last year?

Alaina: We had a pretty dull Valentine’s Day last year. Nothing happened and we were kind of in a bad place.

GMT: What are you doing for Valentine’s this year? 

Aliana:  This year I’m hoping to go for AYCE sushi because it’s something that we both love

GMT: What do you think of Valentine’s Day – is it fun, boring, not for you, just another day, or is it a romantic day?

Aliana:  I think Valentine’s Day is fun if you’re with the right to person. It gives you an extra chance to show the person you’re with that you really do love them. Sometimes we get caught up in our day to day lives and forget to tell each other how much we care. I know I for one get super excited secretly buying my gf gifts, and hiding them in plain sight because I know she won’t look there.

GMT: How long have you and your girlfriend been together for?

Aliana:  We have been together for 5 years now

GMT: What are some interesting things about yourself

Aliana:  I’m a 24 year old Animal Care program graduate living in Toronto. I have a bunch of animals that I care for with my wonderful girlfriend. We love to play video games together and go on adventures with our hedgehog in the spring.

 

Sean and Ray:

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-4-12-39-pm

GMT: What did you do for Valentine’s Day last year?

Ray: Last year we spent the morning at the farmer’s market, and came home to cook a lasagna bolognese with fresh noodles and a bachamel sauce, and for dessert, a semifreddo for desert. It was all Sean, sometimes I don’t know who the Chef is in our relationship

GMT: What are you doing for Valentine’s this year? 

Ray:  We won’t be doing anything romantic this year, because Sean is working late.

GMT: What do you think of Valentine’s Day – is it fun, boring, not for you, just another day, or is it a romantic day?

Ray: I don’t think we ever did anything for valentine’s day, we’re just sitting here laughing about it. We just spread it all year round.

GMT: How long have you and your boyfriend been together for?

Ray:  We have been together for 4 years now

GMT: What are some interesting things about yourself

Ray: Just a northerner living in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario. Obsessed with cookery, and photography.

 

Taylor and Vincent:

taylor

GMT: What did you do for Valentine’s Day last year?

Vincent: We have either stayed in for an nice dinner- where we’ll cook an elaborate dish with lots of wine and bake sweets; and watch a movie, or we’ve gone out to restaurants for nice dinners.

GMT: What are you doing for Valentine’s this year?

Vincent: Due to some scheduling issues, Taylor is working and I’m off to the opera alone

GMT: What do you think of Valentine’s Day – is it fun, boring, not for you, just another day, or is it a romantic day?

Vincent: I think Valentine’s Day isn’t the one day everyone should be going crazy and doing all these over the top features; instead of spoiling on just one day, I like to try and spoil him every day. Every day is Valentine’s Day

GMT: How long have you and your boyfriend been together for?

Vincent:  We have been together for 5 years now

GMT: What are some interesting things about yourself

Vincent: We definitely play to each other’s personality types; I am a very old soul and can be stubborn, but Taylor keeps me young, puts a smile on my face and makes me truly happy. I am reminded of a quote from Modern Family: “Where there are two types of people, dreamers and realists. Realists help keep the dreamers from flying too close to the sun, and without the dreamers, the realists would never get their feet off the ground. Two pieces of a puzzle; we fit together perfectly

 

And a special shout out to Tynomi Banks:

 

tynomi

Leave a Reply

